Tomorrow is a new day…

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I love this Emerson quote. I try to have the mindset he describes above. I used to always either be dwelling on yesterday or worrying about tomorrow. A much more enjoyable and peaceful way to live is to be in the moment and live one day at a time. Whatever mistakes or slipups I make today, I will reflect on before my head hits the pillow and I will take whatever learning experience I can get from it. Then, I have to let the guilt or shame or anxiety (or whatever the feeling may be) go. Otherwise, I will not be useful to anyone tomorrow because I will be stuck in yesterday. Like Emerson says, we can only do what we can do. There are many things I cannot do, and many things that I can. So, I may as well focus only on the things I CAN do. It makes for a much more productive experience. Half the time, most of the blunders I think I’ve made and all the worrying I do is nonsense anyway! The spirit of the universe and my higher power have more things in store for me when I wake up in the morning, so I better make some room for them. Every morning is a new beginning. Thank God! Goodnight.

7 thoughts on “Tomorrow is a new day…

  1. Yes! What a great thought for the close of my day…I LOVE it! Thanks for sharing. I just have to mention that the typewriters in my high school typing class were just like the one in your photo! lol I can’t tell you how many nails I broke pounding those darn keys!!!

  2. That is a great quote. I hate those nights when I try to sleep and can’t because I’m replaying something that happened that day. It’s like a continuous loop in my head. I’d be so much better off if I could just let it go like Emerson says.

  3. My partner and I absolutely love your blog
    and find almost all of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?

    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome web site!

Leave a Reply

