Believe

“We are better than we know.  If we can be made to see it, perhaps for the rest of our lives, we will be unwilling to settle for less.” – Anonymous

Some people (mostly men, I think) struggle with over-inflated ego.  They think they are better than most; they believe that they deserve more than everyone else.

I am not one of those people.  I think I am like many women, in that, I struggle with not thinking enough of myself, thinking that I DON’T deserve certain things, and experiencing low self-worth.  WHY do we do this to ourselves?  We all have amazing and different qualities to offer this world; yet, for some reason we don’t believe it.  Actually, it’s not just “some reason”.  I can think of plenty of reasons: abusive childhood, abusive relationships, alcohol or drug addiction, abandonment, strained parental relationships, society, our culture/media’s portrayal of women, and on and on ad infinitum.

However, we are not victims.  Some of the things on that list have affected me personally, but none of them is an excuse to hate myself.  Then, why is it a continual struggle to show myself the love that so many other people have for me: God, my parents, my friends, my dogs?  It seems that if I don’t have romantic love in my life, then there is no love at all.  That could not be farther from the truth, but it is so hard for me to see and believe that on a daily basis.

Someone very special and important to me told me the other day to believe that others believe until I can believe it myself.  So, when my faith and self-love is lacking, all I have to do is remember that she believes.

Do you believe?

Fall in love with your life today.

2 thoughts on “Believe

  1. Beautifully written post! I’ve struggled with self doubt most of my adult life. There are some days I feel I have conquered it but then it rears its ugly head when I list expect it. Maybe it keeps me dependent on God and that is a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

