Precious Moments

Okay, now that Sully (one of my pooches) has freed me from scratching duties, I can actually write this post. 

Lately, I’ve been hearing about a lot of loss and death and it makes me thank God a couple of more times that night for the blessings in my life.  On the surface, Christmastime is about joy and love and abundance.  However, for many people, the holidays are a struggle whether it be financially or emotionally.  I’m making a conscious effort this month, as I really should all months, but especially this month, to express my gratitude for the people in my life.  Rather than dwelling on loss or what I don’t have, this perspective makes life feel FULL.

Observing the holiday season with all the gift buying and wish lists, the focus is on filling up your bags with things you don’t have, but want.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been reading too many minimalism blogs, but I’m much more attracted to the idea of embracing what I already have and rejoicing in those gifts.  I hear this all the time and it’s so true – I may not have everything that I want, but I have everything that I need.  Really what I’m thinking about here is people.  The people in my life make it worth living, not what I have. 

Hearing about those who have lost the ones they love has made me stop and think.  Today, I know that “it could be me.”  Whereas, a couple of years ago I was of the mindset of “that could never happen to me.”  Well, horrors that I thought “could never happen to me” have happened, but I was lucky enough to live through them.  I can see my own mortality now and I realize that bad things do happen to good people.  So, my conclusion is that the only way to really live life is in the moment.  Precious moments.  I used to think that they were few and far between; however, now I can see that every moment is precious if you’re aware of it.  Just like when I was annoyed at first by Sully demanding incessantly that I pet him, because I wanted to write on my blog – that turned into a precious moment when I actually looked into his little, bright brown eyes and saw that all he was asking for was love.

Take in your precious moments this Christmas (and every day after that too!)

“I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.  I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future.  The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me.  I will not shut out the lessons that they teach.” – Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

3 thoughts on “Precious Moments

  1. What a beautiful message! Over the past eight years due to circumstances in my life I have had to downsize from a three bedroom, two bath down to a two bedroom, one bath and now moving back home where I have one bedroom and all my possession had to fit within this one room. I have learned that “Less is More” and that the only things we take with us are the things we give away. There is so much freedom in having less. Sully sounds adorable…I’d love to see a pix of your pooches. 🙂

    1. Thanks, jmj! Sounds like you’ve learned a lot through the past years and I think that you’re not alone in having to downsize…I know of a lot of people who have had to make sacrifices due to the economy. But you sound strong and are persevering! I appreciate your comments, and I will definitely have to put up some pics of the pooches! Have an inspired day!

  2. I hope your holidays were extra special. 🙂 They go by too fast! Wishing you and your loved ones many blessings in the New Year 2011.

Leave a Reply

