On Writing

Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been encouraged to address my fears of writing. The question posed is, what kind of courage does it take to write.

Anything written, whether it be fiction or non-fiction, comes from inside the author. Writing exposes me. It makes me feel vulnerable, not just to the reader but also to myself. What if I discover something ugly about myself through my writing?

Fear of rejection. Fear of rejection from others and fear of rejection from myself. It is as simple and as complicated as that.

For me, the courage to write isn’t courage at all. There is a God-given force, a drive, a will inside of me fueling the desire to spew written words into the universe. Mustering the courage to write is not something I drudge up. It is just a natural state of being.

2 thoughts on “On Writing

  1. I know what you mean about becoming vulnerable when you write. I just completed my second Young Adult Romance novel. Even though I’m waiting for the first one yet to be published the sequel just wanted to be let out. Even if only kids end up reading it I still feel that I accomplished as much as if I was a rock climber and made it to the top of Mount Everest! After all it’s the journey reaching the goal that is the most fun. Good luck in all your writing endeavors! 🙂

Leave a Reply

