It’s a sign…

I was sitting at a Starbucks yesterday, working on my online writing course when a woman in her late fifties, gray-blonde bob, asks me if she can borrow my phone because her battery died.  I’m always skeptical of strangers, but I knew right away that she was normal and harmless.  After she makes the call, we start chatting.  She’s thinking about moving to the area and asks me how I like living here.  She’s been in marketing forever, although it doesn’t reflect who she is on the inside.  She got her degree in social work and is thinking about switching careers.  She said she’s not a risk taker and is scared to make these big changes.  I told her I am feeling the same way (because I am)!  Just the other day, my good friend “J” said to me: We have to take risks, even if it doesn’t always feel “responsible”.  The woman thanked me and said she felt like God was putting signs in her path pointing her in the right direction.  She said that I validated what she had been thinking and feeling. 

She was a sign from God for me, too.  I felt such a connection to her.  I felt like I was looking at myself 30 years into the future.  We are both at the same crossroads.  It made me realize that I don’t want to ignore the drive I feel inside to make a change and then have to deal with it 30 years down the road, filled with regret and “what if’s”.  She was like my ghost of Christmas future.  Although, she certainly wasn’t sad or pathetic, I don’t want to be 55 before I realize what I want or find the courage to go after it.  She has given me the courage and the faith that I am on the right path and that I should continue to listen for direction. It reminded me that fear is a straitjacket, and I want to be free from that bondage. 

I hope she finds what she’s looking for!

You never know what the universe has in store for you on any given day, so make sure you show up for your life with eyes and ear wide open and willing to take it all in.

3 thoughts on “It’s a sign…

  1. Such an inspiring post! 🙂 There are so many times that signs are put in our path but we just don’t recognize them…I’m happy that you did! Good luck in going after your dreams! 🙂

Leave a Reply

