A reason, season, or a lifetime?

As trite as it may be, I do believe that people come into our lives for a reason, a season, or a lifetime.  Over time, I have learned to apply this to my past relationships.  Most of them ended horribly, and I walked (or crawled) away feeling like I added another failure to my belt.  I would feel like all the time invested in that relationship was a waste of time because it didn’t ‘work out’.  That attitude makes for an empty, meaningless life.

Today, as I’ve grown closer to God, I see that every person he’s put on my path, even if only for a short season, was put there for a reason and a purpose.  It can be incredibly difficult to see the lesson through the loss and the pain, but with time and space comes perspective.

If you believe that God has a plan for you, you must also believe that God has specifically designed each of your relationships.  I recently experienced the ending of another relationship and my first reaction was that I had failed again and wasted another X number of months of my life on something that wasn’t meant to be.  Then, when I turned to God in prayer and reflection, I realized how much I learned about myself, my wants, my needs, and my non-negotiables in a partner.  I also saw for me how God does for me what I cannot do for myself.  It never ceases to amaze me how He takes care of me.  I am reminded by these types of situations that sometimes I don’t give God enough credit.

Our faith must work in and through us 24 hours a day.

2 thoughts on “A reason, season, or a lifetime?

  1. The design for your web site is a tad off in Epiphany. Even So I like your site. I might have to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

